©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

The Dead Take the A Train

By Richard Kadrey & Cassandra Khaw
The Dead Take the A Train by Richard Kadrey & Cassandra Khaw digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

Bestselling authors Cassandra Khaw and Richard Kadrey have teamed up to deliver a dark new story with magic, monsters, and mayhem, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.

Julie is a coked-up, burnt-out thirty-year-old whose only retirement plan is dying early. She’s been trying to establish herself in the NYC magic scene, and she’ll work the most gruesome gigs, exorcize the nastiest demons, and make deals with the cruelest gods to claw her way to the top. But nothing can prepare her for the toughest job yet: when her best friend, Sarah, shows up at her door in need of help. Keeping Sarah safe becomes top priority.

Julie is desperate for a quick fix to break the dead-end grind and save her friend. But her power grab sets off a deadly chain of events that puts Sarah – and the entire world - directly in the path of annihilation.

The first explosive adventure in the Carrion City Duology, The Dead Take the A Train fuses Cassandra Khaw’s cosmic horror and Richard Kadrey’s gritty fantasy into a full-throttle thrill ride straight into New York’s magical underbelly.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

92 Reviews

3.5
Slightly Smiling Face“Really liked just about everything in this one. Two friends taking on supernatural/mystical demons and gods. Felt kind of like a more romance heavy, less Christian overtoned Constantine/Hellblazer. Didn’t love the ending but satisfied enough hearing there’s a sequel in the works.”
Diverse charactersMulti-layered charactersOriginal writingTwistyUnpredictableDark settingAbuseViolence
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“Let’s set the scene: The doorbell rings. It’s your best friend asking if you’ll help hide a body. Like any good best friend, you’ve been preparing for this moment. You’ve even measure the trunk of your car. Plot twist. The dead body IS your best friend. The thing standing beside you, who knocked on your front door, obviously not your best friend. It grins. The corners of its mouth split, and its skin starts to crack. Worming out of the tears and fissures of flesh come maggots. You scream. I hope you enjoyed that. Because if you didn’t, toss this book. Toss it far, like really far away. Was I compelled to keep reading even through the unnecessary gore? Almost as if against my will. The demon that was this book sunk its claws into me and would not let go. And I’m going to say, rather confidently, that this book won’t be for everyone. But I have a toxic relationship with good sleep and enjoy all things weird and creepy. But I was living for the side characters. Saint Joan. Billy. Dead Air. Oh, shame on me, I can’t forget the fox wearing a human skin suit! I won’t say I’ll wait with bated breath for the second book, but I’ll definitely read it 🤗 (Full review on my Instagram)”
Diverse charactersLikable charactersAddictiveFast-pacedDark settingMagical settingDarkViolence
“This is exactly the weird ass cosmic horror genre I adore. Sapphic but hella gory. Super good.”
Beaming Face with Smiling Eyes
Likable charactersEasy to readFunny writingOriginal writingAddictiveSuspensefulImmersive settingMagical settingComicalDark
Thinking Face
Diverse charactersOriginal writingDark settingMagical settingViolenceUnengaging characters

About Richard Kadrey

CASSANDRA KHAW is the USA Today bestselling author of Nothing But Blackened Teeth and the Bram Stoker Award-winner, Breakable Things. Other notable works of theirs are The Salt Grows Heavy and British Fantasy Award and Locus Award finalist, Hammers on Bone. Khaw’s work can be found in places like The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Year’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy, and Tor.com. Khaw is also the co-author of The Dead Take the A Train, co-written with bestselling author Richard Kadrey.

RICHARD KADREY is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sandman Slim supernatural noir series. Sandman Slim was included in Amazon’s “100 Science Fiction & Fantasy Books to Read in a Lifetime,” and is in production as a feature film. Some of Kadrey’s other books include The Grand Dark, The Everything Box, King Bullet, and Butcher Bird. In comics, he’s written for Heavy Metal, Lucifer, and Hellblazer.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB