©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Violet Made of Thorns

By Gina Chen
Violet Made of Thorns by Gina Chen digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A darkly enchanting fantasy about a lying witch, a cursed prince, and a sinister prophecy that ignites their doomed destinies—perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince.

“Everything you want from an enemies-to-lovers fantasy starring morally gray characters.”—BuzzFeed


Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased—and not always true—divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so-not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he’s crowned at the end of the summer—unless Violet does something about it.

But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus's love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom—all depending on the prince’s choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that’s growing between her and Cyrus.

Violet’s wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can't change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom—or doom them all.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

586 Reviews

3.5
Anxious Face with sweat“Um okay. I wanted to shake the hell out of Violet and Cyrus so much during this book. They couldn’t pull their heads out of their asses to save their lives. It was a hodgepodge of Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, and Sleeping Beauty, which was super cool. It was not prince x damsel or anything, it was a true fairytale prince x fairytale witch. Very cool dynamic. Lots of open questions from the end, so interested to see where things go.”
Thumbs Up“It’s not that it was bad. The premise was very intriguing and original. But the characters and the plot often felt inconsistent. There were many twists, but many of them weren’t properly finished. Had a lot of potential, but just wasn’t quite right.”
Easy to readTwistyMagical settingUnsatisfying ending
Expressionless Face
Easy to readMagical settingUnengaging charactersUnsatisfying endingUnsatisfying plot
Surprised Face with Open Mouth
Characters change and growMulti-layered charactersEasy to read

About Gina Chen

A self-taught artist with a degree in Computer Science, Gina Chen generates creative nonsense in all forms of media and always has a project stewing. She has particular fondness for fairy tales, demon tales, romantic comedies, and quiz shows. Currently, she resides in Southern California, where the sun is as plentiful as its tea shops. Violet Made of Thorns is her debut novel.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB