©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.5 

Thirsty: A Novel

By Jas Hammonds
Thirsty: A Novel by Jas Hammonds digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

From Jas Hammonds, award-winning author of We Deserve Monuments, comes a gripping read about a queer teen risking it all to pledge an underground sorority with her best friends the summer before college—perfect for fans of Euphoria and Girl in Pieces.

It’s the summer before college and eighteen-year-old Blake Brenner and her girlfriend, Ella, have one goal: join the mysterious and exclusive Serena Society. The sorority promises status and lifelong connections to a network of powerful, trailblazing women of color. Ella’s acceptance is a sure thing—she’s the daughter of a Serena alum. Blake, however, has a lot more to prove.

As a former loner from a working-class background, Blake lacks Ella’s pedigree and confidence. Luckily, she finds courage at the bottom of a liquor bottle. When she drinks, she’s bold, funny, and unstoppable—and the Serenas love it. But as pledging intensifies, so does Blake’s drinking, until it’s seeping into every corner of her life. Ella assures Blake that she’s fine; partying hard is what it takes to make the cut . . .

But success has never felt so much like drowning. With her future hanging in the balance and her past dragging her down, Blake must decide how far she’s willing to go to achieve her glittering dreams of success—and how much of herself she’s willing to lose in the process.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

6 Reviews

4.5
Loudly Crying Face“Jas, your writing continues to amaze me!needless to say, I went through ALL the feels reading this book. I've had "friends", family and generally people I wanted to impress encourage me to take shot after shot. Like Blake, I have severe thoughts of self hate when I'm drunk. it always seemed "worth it", to be the version of myself other people actually LIKED and looked up to. It's unbelievable how often I've heard other people tell me that my relationship with alcohol was "completely normal". It never was. I never drank because it made me feel good. I drank because I wanted to fit in. Like Blake, I have good people in my life now, people who actually care for my well-being and don't care for self-destructive habits. I've survived. And I take it day by day. Alcohol transformed me into a person I don't know. Call it self-confident or more accurately, call it masking. As an autistic person, alcohol allowed me to mask my autistic traits. Which is super damaging because IT'S NOT REAL. You never want to surround yourself with people who only see the non-autistic side of you. thank you, Jas. I didn't know how much I needed this. To sobriety! 🐌🩵🫂”
Reviewed in:THIRSTY Giveaway
Characters change and growDiverse charactersComing of ageHeartbreakingThought-provokingAbuseBigotryRacismSelf-harm
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“Imagine the vibes of Euphoria intertwined with an exclusive college society for women of color. Blake, her girlfriend Ella, and her best friend Annetta are trying to navigate the challenges of pledging into this society, all while Blake struggles with her excessive drinking. Thirsty delves into themes of alcohol abuse, toxic relationships, family bonds, and the transition from high school to college. Alaska Jackson's narration is exceptional, truly bringing the story to life. This is a must-read book that everyone should pick up. cw alcohol hazing Outing toxic relationship gaslighting bullying”
Characters change and growDiverse charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writingComing of ageHeartbreakingThought-provoking
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“Wow. Just wow. Where was this when I was young and getting sober? This book has splayed out on all of its pages how I felt coming out as a lesbian, how I felt getting sober, and most importantly - how to survive doing so. I loved this book through every page and every moment. This book covers so many topics and while I may not relate to every single one of them, the beautiful writing and rawness of the main character is captivating.”
Reviewed in:THIRSTY Giveaway
Characters change and growDiverse charactersBeautifully writtenAddictiveHomophobiaRacismTransphobia
Loudly Crying Face“this book ripped me APART. i haven’t felt this heavily connected to characters in YEARS. This is one of those books that makes you remember why you love reading.”
Characters change and growDiverse charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenAddictiveRealistic settingComing of ageTransphobia

About Jas Hammonds

Jas Hammonds was raised in many cities and between the pages of many books. They have received support for their writing from Baldwin for the Arts, the Highlights Foundation and more. They are also a grateful recipient of the MacDowell James Baldwin Fellowship. Their debut novel, We Deserve Monuments, won the 2023 Coretta Scott King John Steptoe Award for New Talent, among many other accolades.

Other books by Jas Hammonds

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB