©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

They Never Learn

By Layne Fargo
They Never Learn by Layne Fargo digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

From the author of the “raw, ingenious, and utterly fearless” (Wendy Walker, USA TODAY bestselling author) Temper comes a dynamic psychological thriller about two women who give bad men exactly what they deserve—perfect for fans of Killing Eve and Chelsea Cain.

Scarlett Clark is an exceptional English professor. But she’s even better at getting away with murder.

Every year, Dr. Clark searches for the worst man at Gorman University—professor, student, or otherwise—and plots his well-deserved demise. Thanks to her meticulous planning, she’s avoided drawing attention to herself…but as she’s preparing for her biggest kill yet, the school starts probing into the growing body count on campus. Determined to keep her enemies close, Dr. Clark insinuates herself into the investigation and charms the woman in charge. Everything’s going according to her master plan…until she loses control with her latest victim, putting her secret life at risk of exposure.

Meanwhile, Gorman student Carly Schiller is just trying to survive her freshman year. Finally free of her emotionally abusive father, all Carly wants is to focus on her studies and fade into the background. Her new roommate has other ideas. Allison Hadley is cool and confident—everything Carly wishes she could be—and the two girls quickly form an intense friendship. So when Allison is sexually assaulted at a party, Carly becomes obsessed with making the attacker pay...and turning her fantasies about revenge into a reality.

“A gorgeously written ragestorm of a thriller” (Wendy Heard, author of The Kill Club), They Never Learn is a feminist serial killer story that you won’t be able to put down.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

1267 Reviews

4.0
“Despite my rapidity in finishing this book, it was a difficult read. It so accurately describes the anger and helplessness one feels when forced to interact with endlessly misogynistic and dangerous men. The book carries a pessimistic connotation, as the title shares, and it is partly because of that, that I found it hard to trudge through the story; on my best days, I believe we can reach a point where violence (such as SA) has significantly decreased. And the times that violence does occur, it does not go on forgotten or unpunished. Lastly, I would especially recommend this book to anyone who feels cognitively and emotionally unaware of the violence women and femme-presenting people endure for a too vast majority of their lives.”
Believable charactersDescriptive writingAddictiveFast-pacedSuspensefulImmersive settingDarkMisogynySexual assaultViolence
Beaming Face with Smiling Eyes“Essentially the female version of Dexter and I loved it. I thought it was put together really well. There were a couple of twists but I must admit, they didn’t surprise me. However, not every book needs jaw-dropping twists. Especially when the story is interesting, cool, unsettling and intriguing regardless. A couple important characters could’ve been fleshed out a bit more so I could be more invested in their part of the story, but overall it was an enjoyable read!”
Characters change and growFast-pacedDarkSexual assault
“This was one of my top books for 2023!! As soon as I started it I was hooked. I almost called off work once I got to the plot twist so I could finish it”

About Layne Fargo

Layne Fargo is the author of the thrillers Temper and They Never Learn. She’s a Pitch Wars mentor, Vice President of the Chicagoland chapter of Sisters in Crime, and the cocreator of the podcast Unlikeable Female Characters. Layne lives in Chicago with her partner and their pets.

Other books by Layne Fargo

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon