©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

The Winter Prince

By Elizabeth Wein
The Winter Prince by Elizabeth Wein digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

Brave Medraut is a fitting heir to the throne—but he can never be king—in this fantasy retelling of the legend of Mordred from the author of Code Name Verity.

Medraut is the eldest son of High King Artos, and would-be heir to the British throne—if not for an unfortunate circumstance of birth. Instead, his weak and unskilled half-brother, Lleu, is chosen as successor. Medraut cannot bear the thought of being ruled by the boy who has taken what he believes is rightfully his.
 
Consumed by jealousy, he turns to Morgause, the high king’s treacherous sister, who exploits Medraut’s shame and plots to take over the throne. But when Medraut discovers Lleu’s inner strength and goodness, he finds his battle is not just with the kingdom, but with the demons inside himself. Now he must choose where his allegiances truly lie.
 
Perfect for readers of Robin McKinley and Jane Yolen, The Winter Prince is an “engrossing” novel that “fantasy lovers and devotees of Arthurian legends will enjoy,” from an author who has won honors ranging from the Carnegie Medal to the Edgar Award (Booklist).
 
This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author’s personal collection.
 

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

6 Reviews

4.0
““How can you make light of what you have done to me? You have left all my body scarred in little ways, my back, my throat, my hands. There is a scar inside my mouth where once you stabbed a hairpin through my cheek. I am like a ruined piece of parchment scrawled over and over again with your name, so many times it has become illegible. Even in sleep I am not free of you!” If you are looking for a typical YA fantasy read, this isn't the book for you. This had no dashing hero or damsel that needed rescuing, no centralized romance, nor a large cast of sidekick characters. Oh no, this was emotional, vengeful, twisted and kept me on the edge of my seat. Not all the characters are good ones. They make horrible decisions, say horrible things and do horrible things. “There is no end,” I said. “Only the beginning of something else.” It is written through our protagonists perspective, and written to his Godmother/mother who abused him and still torments him even when she isn't near. He is born out of unfortunate circumstances and the burden and the blame of it lies on his shoulders. He is broken and confused and trying to find his place. He is a pawn of his mother and what seems like a disgrace to his father and everyone else. This novel was about choices and becoming who you want to be, not who you are expected because of your birth. There were so many layers to this plot, so many hurts so many twists and turns. There is hope for redemption. As heavy as this seemed times, it was beautifully written. There is so much depth and emotion of Wein's writing and I could not tear myself away from it. After reading back to back YA novels that all felt the same, I was more than happy to stumble over this one that broke the mold.”
“I liked this book, but I hesitate to say it. Medraut was heroic and honest, but just a tiny bit disturbing. I thought he was endearing, up until he kidnapped his brother, then he just began to annoy me. I am really interested in books about Arthurian mythology. I find the legends that surround that hero intriguing.”

About Elizabeth Wein

Elizabeth Wein (b. 1964) is an author of young adult novels and short stories. After growing up in New York City; England; Jamaica; and Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, she attended Yale University and received her doctorate in folklore at the University of Pennsylvania. While in Philadelphia, Wein learned to ring church bells in the English style known as change ringing, and in 1991, she met her future husband, Tim, at a bell-ringers’ dinner-dance. She and Tim are also private pilots who have flown all over the world. She lives with Tim and their two children in Scotland. 

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB