©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

The Scarlet Veil

By Shelby Mahurin
The Scarlet Veil by Shelby Mahurin digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

This dark and thrilling vampire romance—set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Serpent & Dove series—is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas!

Célie Tremblay has always been a good girl: kind and beautiful, a daughter of whom every parent would be proud. She surprises the entire kingdom when she defies tradition to become the first huntswoman—including her new captain and fiancé, Jean Luc, who rules the huntsmen with an iron fist. He isn’t the only one concerned for Célie’s safety, however. Though her friends try to protect her from the horrors of her past, mysterious whispers still haunt her, and a new evil is rising in Belterra—leaving bodies in its wake, each one drained of blood.

Determined to prove herself in her new role, Célie tracks the killer to the lair of Les Éternels—ancient creatures only spoken about in nursery rhymes—and catches the attention of their king, a monster who hides his plans for her behind beautiful words and sharp smiles. Now Célie has new reason to fear the dark because the closer he gets, the more tempted she feels to give in to his dark hunger—and her own.

100 Reviews

4.0
Surprised Face with Open Mouth
Characters change and growLikable charactersDescriptive writingSuspensefulImmersive settingRomanticThought-provokingAbuseSexual assaultLack of diversity
Slightly Smiling Face“I thought that seeing the names from the previous series that I havnt yet finished would make it hard to read this. But it can be a standalone book, read without having read the previous series. It had a good story line and a very catchy surprising ending that left me shook.”
Reviewed in:Aussie Gals 🦋
Believable charactersLikable charactersEasy to readAddictiveFast-pacedTwistyBeautiful settingDark setting
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“I have a lot of thoughts but I REALLY enjoyed this book. I loved seeing Célie grow as a character and I really can’t wait to see how Michal and her relationship grows in the next book. I was NOT expecting the twist at the end on who the necromancer was and I’m so sad it left off where it did because I need more like right now! I will say I’m still not completely sold on the author’s pacing with relationships because it feels like a long build up and then suddenly it changes out of nowhere. It was better in this book compared to Serpent & Dove though. Anyway, I can’t wait for the next book!”
Characters change and growAddictiveTwistyDark settingMagical settingDarkRomantic

About Shelby Mahurin

Shelby Mahurin is the New York Times bestselling author of the Serpent & Dove trilogy. She grew up on a small farm in rural Indiana, where sticks became wands and cows became dragons. Her rampant imagination didn’t fade with age, so she continues to play make-believe every day—with words now instead of cows. When not writing, Shelby watches The Office and reads voraciously. She still lives near that childhood farm with her very tall husband and semiferal children. Visit her online at www.shelbymahurin.com.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon