©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.0 

The Retreat

By Zara Raheem
The Retreat by Zara Raheem digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

In Zara Raheem’s newest novel we meet Nadia Abbasi—whose attempts to save her marriage create unexpected complications—and follow her as she navigates the twists and turns of love. Perfect for fans of Sonali Dev, Christina Lauren, and Sara Desai.

Nadia Abbasi’s marriage is falling apart. It starts with a gifted Roomba, but when she stumbles upon some questionable photos in her husband Aman’s office, everything makes sense—the late-night texting, the sudden interest in fitness, the new clothes. Aman—the kind, thoughtful man she married—is having an affair.

Determined to find out what went wrong in her marriage, Nadia enlists the help of Zeba, the estranged sister she hasn’t seen or spoken to since their mom’s funeral over a year ago. As the two sisters fight to reconcile their past, Nadia realizes her relationship with Aman is not the only one that needs mending.

Nevertheless, the plan itself is simple: confront the “other woman” and win back her husband. Her clumsy attempt at sleuthing leads her from yoga studio—Aman’s latest hangout—to a three-day wellness retreat in the foothills of the Santa Monica mountains. But somewhere in between falling out of tree pose and choking down plant-based meals, Nadia’s plans unravel again when she discovers more than she expected about herself, her husband, and the nature of love.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

5 Reviews

3.0
“Wow, I did not expect to love this book as much as I did. I went into this book with a heavy heart and came out in love. THIS is what I called a well written book! I haven’t been this hooked in a book in such a long time. It made me feel so many emotions and never fell flat. I have been trying to come up with something negative but I have nothing. Totally recommend it! In such a brief novel I cried, laughed, loved and hated. Yet, I consider this a lighthearted read, that is so easy to read in one sitting and harder to leave than ever. I hated my college work and sleep and errands all that more because I just wanted to know what happened next. I’m so so glad I read this and it was just refreshing to read something so well written and interesting. I can’t stop thinking about how I thought I was gonna hate it but absolutely loved it. (Thank you for the ARC provided by the publisher. No but really thank you I loved this book)”

About Zara Raheem

Zara Raheem received her MFA from California State University, Long Beach. She is the recipient of the James I. Murashige Jr. Memorial award in fiction and was selected as one of 2019’s Harriet Williams Emerging Writers. She resides in Southern California where she teaches English and creative writing. The Marriage Clock is her first novel.

Other books by Zara Raheem

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon