©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

The Narrow

By Kate Alice Marshall
The Narrow by Kate Alice Marshall digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

A deliciously terrifying novel about a ghost who uncovers a teen girl's best kept secrets while haunting her boarding school, perfect for fans of Lost in the Never Woods and The Haunting of Bly Manor.

A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST OF THE YEAR
A KIRKUS BEST OF THE YEAR


Everyone has heard the story of the Narrow. The river that runs behind the Atwood School is only a few feet across and seemingly placid, but beneath the surface, the waters are deep and vicious. It’s said that no one who has fallen in has ever survived.

Eden White knows that isn’t true. Six years ago, she saw Delphine Fournier fall into the Narrow—and live.

Delphine now lives in careful isolation, sealed off from the world. Even a single drop of unpurified water could be deadly to her, and no one but Eden has any idea why. Eden has never told anyone what she saw or spoken to Delphine since, but now, unable to cover her tuition, she has to make a deal: her expenses will be paid in return for serving as a live-in companion to Delphine.

Eden finds herself drawn to the strange and mysterious girl, and the two of them begin to unravel each other’s secrets. Then Eden discovers what happened to the last girl who lived with Delphine: she was found half-drowned on dry land. Suddenly Eden is waking up to wet footprints tracking to the end of her bed, the sound of rain on the windows when the skies are clear, and a ghostly silhouette in her doorway. Something is haunting Delphine—and now it’s coming for Eden, too.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

69 Reviews

3.5
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“My heart! I think this is her best work and I’ve read everything she’s written. This book tore my heart open and brought tears to my eyes. A queer love ghost story, it’s got the ingredients and a talented author to put it all together. I’m still crying.”
Likable charactersBeautifully writtenAddictiveFast-pacedBeautiful settingImmersive setting
Anxious Face with sweat“🫠 well that was just mean. The ending was absolutely soul sucking (Ngl I love that though cause I love unhappy books it’s so cathartic). The vibes were phenomenal, so if you love witchy bitchy gay girl shit that’s traumatically depressing you will eat this up (aka me).”
Characters change and growAddictiveTwistyDark settingComing of ageDarkHeartbreakingAbuseHomophobiaViolence
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“I had trouble getting into this; I put it down multiple times over a whole month, only making it through about 1/4 of the book. But I finally sat down and read the rest today. It was cute and had some good creepy parts, and surprisingly went a way I didn't expect. I didn't adore the end, but if you like spooky vibes with light lgbtq romance, this is for you!”
Characters change and growMulti-layered charactersDescriptive writingAddictiveFast-pacedComing of ageAbuseHomophobiaViolence

About Kate Alice Marshall

Kate Alice Marshall started writing before she could hold a pen properly, and never stopped. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with a chaotic menagerie of pets and family members, and ventures out in the summer to kayak and camp along Puget Sound. She is the author of the young adult novels I Am Still Alive, Rules for Vanishing, Our Last Echoes, and These Fleeting Shadows, as well as the middle grade novels Thirteens, Brackenbeast, and Glassheart. Visit her online at katemarshallbooks.com.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB