©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

By Axie Oh
The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

A New York Times Bestseller!

Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale "The Tale of Shim Cheong," perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.

Deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s homeland for generations. Floods sweep away entire villages, while bloody wars are waged over the few remaining resources. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curses them with death and despair. In an attempt to appease him, each year a beautiful maiden is thrown into the sea to serve as the Sea God’s bride, in the hopes that one day the “true bride” will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe that Shim Cheong, the most beautiful girl in the village—and the beloved of Mina’s older brother Joon—may be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is to be sacrificed, Joon follows Cheong out to sea, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong’s stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina seeks out the Sea God, only to find him caught in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man named Shin—as well as a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits—Mina sets out to wake the Sea God and bring an end to the killer storms once and for all.

But she doesn’t have much time: A human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking…

Praise for The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea:

An ABA Indie Bestseller


"On every page I found something marvelous and new, and I was eager to keep reading because I wanted to further explore this wondrous new world." —The New York Times

"A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I’d had when I was growing up. ... A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come." —Elizabeth Lim, New York Times-bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes

"A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate." —Stephanie Garber, New York Times-bestselling author of Caraval

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

2050 Reviews

4.0
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“I didn’t really expect to like this, but I absolutely loved it. It had a very fast start, which isn’t usually my thing, but continued so strong. All the relationships were heartwarming and realistic (a lot times, they’re over the top, but not in this book). It kept you guessing what was gonna happen next, but in an intriguing way. Some twists I saw coming, some hit me out of the blue (and rather hard). Beautiful story with beautiful writing. 100% recommend!”
Multi-layered charactersBeautifully writtenTwistyMagical settingComing of ageFeel goodRomantic
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes
Characters change and growLikable charactersBeautifully writtenEasy to readAddictiveFast-pacedBeautiful settingMagical settingFeel goodRomantic
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a nice, short story. There were many unpredictable elements of the story, and overall, it was a very sweet and heart warming read. The story is written in first-person present tense, which I struggled with. In some ways, it felt very YA, which is just not what I was looking for with this book. With that being said, I don’t regret picking the book up at all. There are some truly deep and beautiful sentiments in the story that I hope will stay with me for a long time. With it being only 218 pages, I think it is short and easy enough for many people to finish in a few days, if not less. I would recommend it as a break between heavier reads 😊”
Likable charactersBeautiful settingMagical settingRomantic

About Axie Oh

Axie Oh is a first-generation Korean American, born in New York City and raised in New Jersey. She studied Korean history and creative writing as an undergrad at the University of California San Diego and holds an MFA in Writing for Young People from Lesley University. Her passions include K-pop, anime, stationery supplies, and milk tea, and she currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada, with her dog, Toro (named after Totoro). She is the author of multiple books for teens, including XOXO and the New York Times bestseller The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB