©2023 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

Six Crimson Cranes

By Elizabeth Lim
Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

"A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling." --Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Shiori'anma, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted. But it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

A sorceress in her own right, Raikama banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes. She warns Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and uncovers a dark conspiracy to seize the throne. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in a paper bird, a mercurial dragon, and the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she's been taught all her life to forswear--no matter what the cost.
 
Weaving together elements of The Wild Swans, Cinderella, the legend of Chang E, and the Tale of the Bamboo Cutter, Elizabeth Lim has crafted a fantasy like no other, and one that will stay with readers long after they've turned the last page.
 
"A stunning remake of a fairytale. Six Crimson Cranes is the perfect blend of whimsy and ferociousness, with twists and turns that will tug at your heartstrings." —Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights
 
"Fast-paced excitement is balanced with a satisfyingly intricate plot that weaves in elements from Western fairy tales and East Asian folklore." —SLJ, starred review


“A richly imagined landscape . . . vibrant, fast-paced.
Publishers Weekly, starred review
 

427 Reviews

4.0
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“I LOVE this book. The entire plot of this book is good. I couldn't put it down and I pulled a couple all nighters finishing it. It has so many great twists. It was amazing!”
Characters change and growLikable charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writing
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“it was a good YA book but the ending happened so quickly considering how many chapters there were. the romance was sweet though hehe.”
Characters change and growEasy to readRushed ending
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“This was a delightfully enchanting YA fantasy! I enjoyed it, though I felt as though the core of the plot dragged on for too long and the ending was squeezed into 8 chapters”
Likable charactersEnchantingSlow plot
Thinking Face“This was cute... if it was meant to be middle grade.I had fun and liked the idea, I just wish the execution was as good. Really wish sometimes Shiori's thoughts were just implied by describing reactions to other peoples words, rather than literally spelling out all her thoughts. Just because it's YA, doesn't mean we're stupid”
CuteFunny writingOriginal writingMagical settingComicalBad writingObstacles overcome too easilyPredictableSlow plot
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“Absolutely exquisite!! I loved every character and every part of this magnificent tale!”
Heroic figuresLikable charactersBeautifully writtenAddictiveEnchantingMeaningful

About Elizabeth Lim

ELIZABETH LIM grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she was raised on a hearty diet of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Before becoming an author, Elizabeth was a professional film and video game composer, and she still tends to come up with her best book ideas when writing near a piano. An alumna of Harvard College and the Juilliard School, she now lives in New York with her husband and her daughters.

Elizabeth is the New York Times bestselling author of Spin the Dawn, Unravel the Dusk, Six Crimson Cranes, The Dragon's Promise, and Her Radiant Curse. She is also a contributor to Disney's A Twisted Tale series.



Visit her at elizabethlim.com
Follow her on Twitter at @LizLim
Follow her on Instagram at @elimpix

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon