©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

She and Her Cat

By Makoto Shinkai & Naruki Nagakawa &
She and Her Cat by Makoto Shinkai & Naruki Nagakawa &  digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

For fans of Mieko Kawakami’s Breasts and Eggs and Murata Sayaka’s Earthlings, this Japanese bestseller from renowned anime director Makoto Shinkai features four inspirational and heartwarming vignettes following women and their cats in their quests for love and connection.

Lying alone on the edge of the sidewalk in an abandoned cardboard box, a nameless narrator contemplates the indifferent world around him. With his mother long gone, his only company is the sound of the nearby train. Just as he fears that the end is near, a young woman peers down at him, this fateful encounter changing their lives forever.

So begins the first story in She and Her Cat, a collection of four interrelated, stream-of-conscious short stories in which four women and their feline companions explore the frailty of life, the pain of isolation, and the limits of communication.

With clever narration alternating between the cats and their owners, She and Her Cat offers a unique and sly commentary on human foibles and our desire for connection. A whimsical short story anthology unlike any other, it effortlessly demonstrates that even in our darkest, most lonesome moments, we are still united to this wonderous world—often in ways we could never have expected.

335 Reviews

3.5
“Sweet and heartfelt, perfect one-sitting read for spring time. Hopeful in a way that hits you particularly well when you need it most.”
Beautifully writtenEasy to readFeel good
Loudly Crying Face
Characters change and growDiverse charactersLikable charactersBeautifully writtenEasy to readFast-pacedBeautiful settingMagical setting
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“A very sweet read! As a cat lover I really enjoyed this, it has a nice format and I like that all the stories are connected. The idea that animals can rescue us as much as we rescue them is one that rings very true to me 😊”
Believable charactersCharacters change and growMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenEasy to readFunny writingRealistic settingComing of ageFeel goodThought-provoking
“It’s a good book to read when you need something light, otherwise there’s nothing much. The book is about different women living in the same neighbourhood who are in some ways connected with each other by their cats. The story follows different perspectives from the cats to their owners. Sometimes the perspective changes out of nowhere so you have to always be on your guard or you’ll get lost. I find the characters a bit shallow as they are only told from surface level. It would be better if the book went further with the characters’ relationships and their developments. Some female characters are described in a weird way which gave me the ick???? I also didn’t like the translation very much but maybe it’s just me. Overall it’s a good book to chill with but that’s it.”
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“Loved the cat commentary as well as their human relationships and with sage dog Jon. I did find I got a little lost at times with the relationships between the cats, but overall I liked each short story, particularly the warmth and humanity that emanated from each.”
Beautifully writtenImmersive settingFeel good

About Makoto Shinkai

Makoto Shinkai is the hugely popular and multi-award-winning anime filmmaker of Your Name and Weathering with You

Naruki Nagakawa

Naruki Nagakawa is a Japanese game and anime screenwriter, and novelist. She and Her Cat is inspired by Makoto Shinkai’s praised anime and written by Nagakawa, and will be published around the world. 

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon