©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Out of the Blue

By Jason June
Out of the Blue by Jason June digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

From Jason June, author of the breakout teen debut novel Jay’s Gay Agenda, comes Out of the Blue, a stand-alone dual POV queer rom-com that asks if love is enough to change everything you’ve grown up believing. Perfect for fans of Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas and Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly. 

Crest is not excited to be on their Journey: the month-long sojourn on land all teen merfolk must undergo. The rules are simple: Help a human within one moon cycle and return to Pacifica to become an Elder—or fail and remain stuck on land forever. Crest is eager to get their Journey over and done with. Humans are disgusting. They’ve polluted the planet so much that there’s a floating island of trash that’s literally the size of a country.

In Los Angeles with a human body and a new name, Crest meets Sean, a human lifeguard whose boyfriend has recently dumped him. Crest agrees to help Sean make his ex jealous and win him back. But as the two spend more time together, and Crest’s perspective on humans begins to change, they’ll soon be torn between two worlds. And fake dating just might lead to real feelings . . .

This sophomore novel from Jason June dives into the many definitions of the word home and shows how love can help us find the truest versions of ourselves. 

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

183 Reviews

3.5
“I am obsessed with the way Jason June described Sean’s chubbiness! I’ve always loved Sean’s size in a guy because it make hugs more comfortable! Sean is also a sweetheart, hopeless romantic, and aspiring filmmaker whose ideas sound like something I’d watch. While I’m giving this book 5 stars, I do kind of wish we’d explored more of Sean’s personality and likes or dislikes. His empathy makes me very relatable, which makes me think there’s so many layers to him we didn’t get to see. Oh, and did I mention I’m obsessed with the way Jason June described his chubbiness? Because I can’t express how much I love it! I have a lot to say about Crest too. Beautiful name, by the way! I wouldn’t call them selfish at the beginning of the story, maybe narrow-minded and self-absorbed. Naturally, Big Bear Sean swoops in with his thick thighs and brings Crest out of their shell. Their relationship feels smooth and, like their hand holding, just right. Crest’s outfits were iconic too! Love the non-gendered approach to this character and exploration of gendered attire! Between them and Sean, we definitely more details on Crest’s world and environment in the Blue. It makes sense with the human world being what we experience daily. Crest’s - no, I won’t call him Ross - fascination with new human things was adorable. And made even cuter through Sean’s perspective and project! I kind of want to see the film Sean made of them! References to romance movies were enjoyable, though I don’t watch too many romances so I didn’t get some of them. Kavya’s part toward the end threw me! I get why she did it but come on, girl! The mer terminology, descriptions of their lifestyle, and how scaling works was beautiful! June’s writing style had me in a chokehold in Jay’s Gay Agenda and it wasn’t just a fluke. I need more! More stories, more chubby rep! Lastly, we’ve got to talk about that ending… Yes, but also why’d you have to do my heart like that? It’s so satisfying, even if it wasn’t what I was expecting. Yeah, this is a wonderful book with some important lessons. So proud to put it on my shelf next to JGA!”

About Jason June

Jason June (it's a two-name first name, like Mary-Kate without the hyphen or the Olsen twin) is a bestselling author of young adult contemporary rom-coms that celebrate queer love and lust and chaotically gay shenanigans. His works include Jay’s Gay Agenda, Riley Weaver Needs a Date to the Gaybutante Ball, and the instant New York Times bestseller Out of the Blue. When not writing, JJ zips about Dallas, Texas, with his husband and their Pomeranian, Pom Brokaw. JJ is a tried and true Laura Dern stan, and he is actively looking for an Andalite friend. Find out more about JJ and his books at heyjasonjune.com.

 

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB