©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.5 

Only This Beautiful Moment

By Abdi Nazemian
Only This Beautiful Moment by Abdi Nazemian digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

Stonewall Book Award Winner * A Best Book of the Year from the Guardian, ALA Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and BookPage

From the award–winning author of Like a Love Story comes a sweeping story of three generations of boys in the same Iranian family. Perfect for fans of Last Night at the Telegraph Club and Darius the Great Is Not Okay

2019. Moud is an out gay teen living in Los Angeles with his distant father, Saeed. When Moud gets the news that his grandfather in Iran is dying, he accompanies his dad to Tehran, where the revelation of family secrets will force Moud into a new understanding of his history, his culture, and himself.

1978. Saeed is an engineering student with a promising future ahead of him in Tehran. But when his parents discover his involvement in the country’s burgeoning revolution, they send him to safety in America, a country Saeed despises. And even worse—he’s forced to live with the American grandmother he never knew existed.

1939. Bobby, the son of a calculating Hollywood stage mother, lands a coveted MGM studio contract. But the fairy-tale world of glamour he’s thrust into has a dark side.

Set against the backdrop of Tehran and Los Angeles, this tale of intergenerational trauma and love is an ode to the fragile bonds of family, the hidden secrets of history, and all the beautiful moments that make us who we are today.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

23 Reviews

4.5
“Only This Beautiful Moment was such an incredible book and I think it might be my favourite books I’ve read this year. It was beautiful and heartbreaking, I don’t even have the words to describe how I felt while reading it. It is written in the perspective of 3 generations of boys from an Iranian family, across different timelines. The book is set in both Los Angeles and Tehran as all three boys discover secrets about their family and learn about themselves. Moud is a teenager from 2019, he is gay and living in Los Angeles with his father, Saeed. They travel to Tehran to visit their family as Moud’s grandfather is dying. Moud discovers a lot about his family and culture during his time in Iran. He worries about being openly gay in Iran due to the country’s politics. Saeed (Moud’s father) is a teenager in 1978, he is a student from Iran. He attends protests with his friends but when his parents find out, he is sent to Los Angeles to live with his grandmother, who he didn’t know existed. Finally we have Bobby (Moud’s grandfather) a teenager in 1939, living in Los Angeles with his Hollywood obsessed mother. He must learn how to navigate this adult world while still learning about himself. The story was written in a phenomenal way and I was so eager to discover links between the three boys stories. The author had a way of transporting the reader to Iran with his amazing descriptions. I loved the character development of all three main characters and how their stories were written about. It felt very personal to the author and it made me feel like I could connect to the author through this book. This is a coming of age book about queer teens and intergenerational trauma. It highlights the importance of queer history and finding love regardless of what society has to say. Also, the conversations the characters had about their home country, Iran, was educational. It was so important for Moud to learn about his culture and family history. I am so grateful to have learnt a bit about it as well! I was truly move by the narrative and I highly recommend this book. Thank you to Pride Book Tours and Little Tiger for sending me a copy of this book.”

About Abdi Nazemian

Abdi Nazemian is the author of Like a Love Story, a Stonewall Honor Book, Only This Beautiful Moment, The Chandler Legacies, and The Authentics. His novel The Walk-In Closet won the Lambda Literary Award for LGBT Debut Fiction. His screenwriting credits include the films The Artist’s Wife, The Quiet, and Menendez: Blood Brothers and the television series Ordinary Joe and The Village. He has been an executive producer and associate producer on numerous films, including Call Me by Your Name, Little Woods, and The House of Tomorrow. He lives in Los Angeles with his husband, their two children, and their dog, Disco. Find him online at abdinazemian.com.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon