©2024 Fable Group Inc.


By Robert Jackson Bennett
Locklands by Robert Jackson Bennett digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • The jaw-dropping conclusion to the acclaimed Founders Trilogy, from the Hugo–nominated author of Foundryside and Shorefall

“It’s so rare to love every single book in a trilogy, to admire the aim, precision, and storytelling stamina this much.”—The New York Times Book Review
ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York Times, The Quill to Live

Sancia, Clef, and Berenice have gone up against long odds in the past. But the war they’re fighting now is one even they can’t win.

This time, they’re not facing robber-baron elites or even an immortal hierophant, but an entity whose intelligence is spread over half the globe—one that uses the magic of scriving to control not just objects but human minds.
To fight it, they’ve used scriving technology to transform themselves and their allies into an army—a society—unlike anything humanity has seen before. With its strength at their backs, they’ve freed a handful of their enemy’s hosts from servitude, and even defeated some of its fearsome, reality-altering dreadnoughts.
Yet despite their efforts, their enemy marches on. Implacable. Unstoppable.
Now, as their opponent closes in on its true prize—an ancient doorway, long buried, that leads to the chambers at the center of creation itself—Sancia and her friends glimpse a last opportunity to stop this unbeatable foe. To do so, they’ll have to unlock the centuries-old mystery of scriving’s origins, embark on a desperate mission into the heart of their enemy’s power, and pull off the most daring heist they’ve ever attempted.
But their adversary might have a spy in their ranks—and a last trick up its sleeve.
And to have a chance at victory, Sancia, Clef, and Berenice will have to make a sacrifice beyond anything that’s come before.

153 Reviews

Anxious Face with sweat“This whole series is such a WILD ride. Locklands still contains the same insane plans and the same lovable characters, but after another time shift from the second, society and the world as we know it is completely altered. The tone was much more hopeless and dire. Every win barely felt like a win. Everything continually goes from bad to worst. We are introduced to an extreme form of twinning from what the Founders started in Shorefall and it's to the point of making everyone feel very alien: fascinating but hard to completely wrap my head around. There are also more moments that drag in this book, compared to the other two. None of that necessarily takes away from the book, but it does require some adjustment. There's some seriously emotional character development and heartbreaking reveals and I really have to applaud the author for the EPIC redemption arcs. I also applaud him for making me burst out laughing on one page and the next throw some seriously dark moments at me. This book, and series, really is something unique and thought-provoking. If you can handle detailed, far-fetched magic systems, and humor added to the dark, definitely try this one out.”
Characters change and growLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersDescriptive writingFunny writingComicalDarkHeartbreakingThought-provoking
Anxious Face with sweat“Though the tone of the series shifts a lot from the beginning in did really love the way all the threads concluded and the character arches were amazing! This one was significantly slower than the other books however and I do miss the feeling the first book gave me. I also feel like there were some unanswered questions in the epilogue. That said I highly recommend the series overall!”
Characters change and growMulti-layered charactersSuspensefulTwistyUnpredictableDark settingDarkHeartbreakingThought-provokingViolence
Slightly Smiling Face
Characters change and growMulti-layered charactersFunny writingOriginal writingFast-pacedTwistyImmersive settingMagical settingComical

About Robert Jackson Bennett

Robert Jackson Bennett is the author of Foundryside, Shorefall, and the Divine Cities trilogy, which was a Hugo Award finalist in the Best Series category. The first book in the series, City of Stairs, was also a finalist for the World Fantasy and Locus Awards, and the second, City of Blades, was a finalist for the World Fantasy, Locus, and British Fantasy Awards. His previous novels, which include American Elsewhere and Mr. Shivers, have received the Edgar Award, the Shirley Jackson Award, and the Philip K. Dick Citation of Excellence. He lives in Austin with his family.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!


Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB