©2023 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

How to Fake It in Hollywood

By Ava Wilder
How to Fake It in Hollywood by Ava Wilder digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

A talented Hollywood starlet and a reclusive A-lister enter into a fake relationship . . . and discover that their feelings might be more than a PR stunt in this sexy debut for fans of Beach Read and The Unhoneymooners.

“A raw, character-driven, and heart-touching read . . . I absolutely loved it.”—Elena Armas, New York Times bestselling author of The Spanish Love Deception


ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: Cosmopolitan

Grey Brooks is on a mission to keep her career afloat now that the end of her long-running teen TV show has her (unsuccessfully) pounding the pavement again. With a life-changing role on the line, she’s finally desperate enough to agree to her publicist’s scheme: fake a love affair with a disgraced Hollywood heartthrob who needs the publicity, but for very different reasons.

Ethan Atkins just wants to be left alone. Between his high-profile divorce, struggles with drinking, and grief over the death of his longtime creative partner and best friend, Ethan has slowly let himself fade into the background. But if he ever wants to produce the last movie he and his partner wrote together, Ethan needs to clean up his reputation and step back into the spotlight. A gossip-inducing affair with a gorgeous actress might be just the ticket, even if it’s the last thing he wants to do.

Though their juicy public relationship is less than perfect behind the scenes, it doesn’t take long before Grey and Ethan’s sizzling chemistry starts to feel like more than just an act. But after decades in a ruthless industry that requires bulletproof emotional armor to survive, are they too used to faking it to open themselves up to the real thing?

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

271 Reviews

3.5
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“I absolutely loved this book. The storyline was amazing and I just could not put it down, except to go to work haha. The only thing I could point out that I did not like was the narration style, I didn’t like how it was third person POV. At times I was confused if we were talking about they as in Ethan or they as in Grey. I could’ve used more clear transitions. Other than that, I absolutely loved the characters and how far they grew throughout the book.”
Smiling Face with Heart-Eyes“MY GOD. I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!! Was not expecting to find my new fav trope but here we are, blushing and giggling over celebrities having to fake date. I’m on the hunt for more!!!”
“Enjoyed—certainly wasn’t the fun, fake dating I expected, but I appreciated the subjects (alcoholism, privacy, exploitation, grief) they tackled.”
“Don’t let this cute cover convince you this is a light rom-com. This thing was heavy. We had alcoholism, unwilling publication of private photos, a deep depression spiral, and just a whole bunch of pain. Overall, I enjoyed it. Their chemistry was super hot especially since it started from an agreement in a PR office. I was proud of Grey the entire book for standing up for herself no matter who was dumping on her. Her career was wildly important to her but she managed to find and maintain important female friendships that weren’t related to the main love storyline and I really liked that. I don’t feel like some books I’ve read recently would pass the Bechdel test. This did with flying colors. Pub date: 6/14/2022 Thank you to Netgalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are my own.”
“Picked this one up for a StoryGraph challenge and was not disappointed! Very cute story (with some minor TW’s) and I loved listening to the story of Gray and Ethan!”

About Ava Wilder

Ava Wilder is a contemporary romance writer. After spending most of her life bouncing all over the East Coast, she currently lives in Oklahoma City with her fiancé and their toothless cat. How to Fake It in Hollywood is her first novel. No one is more surprised than she is that her lifelong obsession with pop culture actually led to something useful.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon