©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.0 

Hell Followed with Us

By Andrew Joseph White
Hell Followed with Us by Andrew Joseph White digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A furious, queer debut novel about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors.


"A long, sustained scream to the various strains of anti-transgender legislation multiplying around the world like, well, a virus." —The New York Times

Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji is on the run from the cult that raised him—the fundamentalist sect that unleashed Armageddon and decimated the world’s population. Desperately, he searches for a place where the cult can’t get their hands on him, or more importantly, on the bioweapon they infected him with.
 
But when cornered by monsters born from the destruction, Benji is rescued by a group of teens from the local Acheson LGBTQ+ Center, affectionately known as the ALC. The ALC’s leader, Nick, is gorgeous, autistic, and a deadly shot, and he knows Benji’s darkest secret: the cult’s bioweapon is mutating him into a monster deadly enough to wipe humanity from the earth once and for all.    
 
Still, Nick offers Benji shelter among his ragtag group of queer teens, as long as Benji can control the monster and use its power to defend the ALC. Eager to belong, Benji accepts Nick’s terms…until he discovers the ALC’s mysterious leader has a hidden agenda, and more than a few secrets of his own. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation.

A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year
A William C. Morris Award Finalist
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A YAVA Award Nominee!
A Booklist Editors' Choice Selection
A BCCB Blue Ribbon Book
Named to the ALA Rainbow Roundtable's Rainbow Book List

538 Reviews

4.0
Loudly Crying Face
Characters change and growMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenDescriptive writingOriginal writingAddictiveFast-pacedSuspensefulUnpredictableDark setting
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“I decided to start this book for the trans rights readathon. It was such an intense read that it took me basically the whole week plus a few days. It was heartbreaking, intense, gripping, and honestly probably one of the best books I have read this year so far. The characters were believable and extremely relatable. Andrew Joseph White is not only an incredible author but an incredible monster maker. He has quickly become one of my automatic buy authors. I HIGHLY recommend this book but if you do decide to read this book, my only suggestion is to read the content warnings first. It is quite an intense read. Looking forward to reading more of his books in the future.”
Diverse charactersMulti-layered charactersDescriptive writingOriginal writingAddictiveSuspensefulImmersive settingDarkTransphobiaViolence
Surprised Face with Open Mouth“This was a beautiful, but horrific story… Hit some really really heavy themes, albeit in a creative young adult/horror setting. Probably the most inclusive story I’ve read in regards to various queer and neuro-diverse representations built-in as the main characters rather than token sidebar characters. Yay! Highly recommend.”
Diverse charactersOriginal writingDark settingThought-provokingAbuseBigotryHomophobiaTransphobiaViolence
“This was a great read that had some amazing moments, but I couldn’t help but feel disconnected while reading this. Though the book vividly depicted the struggles of queer and neurodivergent teens, I found myself wishing for a stronger world-building element to fully immerse me in the story. While I enjoyed the body horror and the authentic representation of characters like Nick, the autistic leader of the ALC, I couldn't shake the feeling of wanting a clearer understanding of the story's world and dynamics.”

About Andrew Joseph White

Andrew Joseph White is a queer, trans author from Virginia, where he grew up falling in love with monsters and wishing he could be one too. He earned his MFA in creative writing from George Mason University’s Creative Writing program in 2022 and has a habit of cuddling random street cats. Andrew writes about trans kids with claws and fangs, and what happens when they bite back. Find Andrew on Twitter and Instagram @AJWhiteAuthor.

Other books by Andrew Joseph White

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon