©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.0 

Greatest Hits

By Harlan Ellison & J. Michael Straczynski &
Greatest Hits by Harlan Ellison & J. Michael Straczynski &  digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

A collection of award-winning short stories, including the viral “I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream” by Harlan Ellison, an eight-time Hugo Award winner, five-time Bram Stoker Award winner, and four-time Nebula Award winner.

As one of the great writers of speculative fiction of the twentieth century, Harlan Ellison shaped the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres.  This inventive and provocative collection of his best-known and most-acclaimed stories is a perfect treasury for old Ellison fans as well as readers discovering this zany, polyphonic writer for the first time. 

Featuring these stories and many more: 
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin,’ Said the Ticktockman” — Hugo Award winner
  • “I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream” — Bram Stoker Award winner
  • “Mefisto in Onyx” — Bram Stoker Award winner
  • “Jeffty Is Five” — British Fantasy Award winner
  • “Shatterday” — Twilight Zone episode
  • “The Whimper of Whipped Dogs” — Edgar Allan Poe Award winner
  • “Paladin of the Lost Hour” — Hugo Award winner, Twilight Zone episode
 
A must-read for sci-fi book lovers and fans of Ray Bradbury, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Isaac Asimov, this career-spanning compilation of classic short stories is also perfect for readers who enjoyed Dangerous Visions, A Boy and His Dog, or other Harlan Ellison books.
 
 

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

2 Reviews

3.0
Expressionless Face“boring nonsense. only enjoyed one story.”
AbuseMisogynyRacismViolenceUnengaging charactersUnsatisfying endingUnsatisfying plot
“3.5 rounded up. I've heard of, but never read Harlan Ellison before, so I figured a collection called Greatest Hits would be a great place to start. The book is broken up into four sections each containing stories with that theme. I liked this, as it gave me a chance to read a few stories that showed different ways in which he wrote books under that theme. As with all short story collections, some of these were hits, some were misses, and some were just ok. I don't believe anyone is going to like every story in a collection like this. For me, it took a little bit to get used to Ellison's writing style, and when I did, I liked many of the stories better. There were a few I didn't like and a couple I lived, but overall, many of these were just ok. It's not that they were poorly written, because they aren't, I just didn't connect with them, or I wanted more. The few I didn't like, I felt were all over the place and I wasn't sure what was happening and I had to look them up to see what exactly I just read. My favorites were Mefisto in Onyx and Paladin of the Lost Hour. I also enjoyed the Introduction and Foreward that paid tribute to Mr. Ellison. My thanks to Union Square & Co. and NetGalley for gifting me a digital copy of this book. My opinions are my own.”

About Harlan Ellison

Harlan Ellison (1934–2018) is a legend of the SFF, horror, and speculative fiction genres. His published works include more than 1,700 short stories, novellas, screenplays, comic book scripts, teleplays, essays, and a wide range of criticism covering literature, film, television, and print media. Ellison won numerous awards, including multiple Hugos, Nebulas, and Edgars. Many of Ellison’s short stories have been adapted into a variety of formats, including television episodes of The Twilight Zone and Star Trek.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB