©2024 Fable Group Inc.
4.5 

Extra Normal

By Kate Alice Marshall
Extra Normal by Kate Alice Marshall digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

It's hard to fight the supernatural when you're naturally "un-super." This chilling middle grade is perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark...even if they don't have any special powers.

Charlie Greer is nothing special—at least not compared to her adopted siblings. Her younger sister is a ghost. Her brother Mateo is a werewolf. Gideon is the product of seriously sketchy experiments that gave him telekinetic powers. Even her parents work for the Division of Extranormal Investigations tracking down all things supernatural, alien, and otherwise unusual.

Charlie's mom says her superpower is maturity—which doesn't really count. But what Charlie lacks in powers she makes up for by keeping the household running. Now, with her parents off on their first vacation in years, it’s up to her to take care of her siblings and make sure nothing disrupts the trip.

But then the new neighbors arrive. The Weavers are a nice, normal couple. Too nice and too normal. And for some reason, they don't seem to want Charlie to see inside their house. She’s certain they’re hiding something. Charlie has to uncover what's going on with the Weavers and stop their plans—without letting Mom and Dad find out anything is wrong.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

6 Reviews

4.5
Slightly Smiling Face“Fast, simple read that I adored. I want more about the cases tucked away please! Now if that family could adopt me, I’d be thrilled.”
Descriptive writingEasy to readAddictiveFast-paced
“In a house full of the paranormal it’s hard being extra normal. I absolutely adored this book! This was a 6/5 star read for me. The family dynamic in this book is so fun and heartwarming even while things were going sideways. First, the characters. The Greer family as a whole is heartwarming but each character felt so well developed. They each had their own flaws and strengths that made them who they are and made their interaction in the family unit and with outside characters that much better. Even the villains of the story are fun and frightening, making the perfect villains for young readers. The weight that Charlie feels of trying to navigate a world that she feels she doesn’t fit into but is needed in is so relatable (even if I don’t have a supernatural mom and siblings). I loved how the agents/ babysitters/ uncles fit into the story along with the other co-works/ family friends of the parents. As an adult reading middle grade books I always find the parents to be somewhat negligent that always baffles me. But KAT writes a pair of great parents that also happen to have flaws. You can see how much they love their kids and want to keep them safe while also being passionate about their work but also losing a bit of themselves in the chaos. That’s a feeling that I know many adults and parents feel. The example of two adults in a relationship needing to find time for themselves and each other in the busyness of their lives is something I know many adults feel, parents and non-parents. And to see that played out and how intuitive Charlie is about it and the weight it put on her was both beautiful and heart breaking. The way the plot plays out with the new and strange neighbors is, of course, fantastical but so fun. Each of the siblings play a significant role in overcoming the many obstacles they face in trying to keep themselves and the town safe. They each learn so much about themselves and each other. And a HUGE shout out to Miss Sinister. When first learning about this cursed doll I was creeped out but she really became the MVP of the whole book for me.”
“I've liked Kate Alice Marshall's adult and young adult work, so figured I'd check out her middle grade work. This was delightful and I loved the oldest sibling energy.”

About Kate Alice Marshall

Kate Alice Marshall writes books for all ages, from middle grade to adult. Her YA novels include I Am Still Alive, Rules for Vanishing, Our Last Echoes, and These Fleeting Shadows. She is also the author of the middle grade novels Thirteens, Brackenbeast, and Glassheart. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her family.

Visit her online at katemarshallbooks.com and follow her on Twitter @kmarshallarts.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB