©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

By Emily Austin
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

In this “fun, page-turner of a novel” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author) that’s perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, a morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and soon finds herself obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.

Gilda, a twenty-something, atheist, animal-loving lesbian, cannot stop ruminating about death. Desperate for relief from her panicky mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local Catholic church, and finds herself being greeted by Father Jeff, who assumes she’s there for a job interview. Too embarrassed to correct him, Gilda is abruptly hired to replace the recently deceased receptionist Grace.

In between trying to memorize the lines to Catholic mass, hiding the fact that she has a new girlfriend, and erecting a dirty dish tower in her crumbling apartment, Gilda strikes up an email correspondence with Grace’s old friend. She can’t bear to ignore the kindly old woman who has been trying to reach her friend through the church inbox, but she also can’t bring herself to break the bad news. Desperate, she begins impersonating Grace via email. But when the police discover suspicious circumstances surrounding Grace’s death, Gilda may have to finally reveal the truth of her mortifying existence.

With a “kindhearted heroine we all need right now” (Courtney Maum, New York Times bestselling author), Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling and “delightfully weird reminder that we will one day turn to dust and that yes, this is depressing, but it’s also what makes life beautiful” (Jean Kyoung Frazier, author of Pizza Girl).

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

1148 Reviews

3.5
Beaming Face with Smiling Eyes
Multi-layered charactersEasy to readFunny writingAddictiveFast-pacedRealistic settingUnsatisfying ending
Slightly Smiling Face“Gilda is easy to connect with as there are so many parts of her different people can relate to (which is a bit ironic in that she probably wouldn’t think she’s someone easy to connect to). It makes her such a real character in some ways, and the way this book is written is such a realistic stream of consciousness. I finished it in two sittings.”
Believable charactersCharacters change and growMulti-layered charactersDescriptive writingEasy to readRealistic settingThought-provoking
Believable charactersMulti-layered charactersFunny writing
Slightly Smiling Face
Believable charactersCharacters change and growDiverse charactersLikable charactersMulti-layered charactersEasy to readFunny writingAddictiveFast-pacedRealistic setting
Thumbs Up“This was a lot different to the books I usually read but I really enjoyed it! I loved the way it was written - it was fast paced and easy to read. I got into it straight away because of Gilda. She was a funny, relatable character and I enjoyed being in her mind. The mix of stream of consciousness and anecdotes worked well for this type of story. All the talk about death was both funny and depressing. A lot of how Gilda felt about herself and her own existence resonated with me. Having the little mystery plot thrown in was interesting and I liked trying to work out what happened to Grace. I enjoyed how it ended and I would love to see how Gilda’s life continued. My only criticism would be that it became slightly repetitive after a while.”
Likable characters

About Emily Austin

Emily Austin is the author of Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be DeadInteresting Facts About Space, and the poetry collection Gay Girl Prayers. She was born in Ontario, Canada, and received two writing grants from the Canadian Council for the Arts. She studied English literature and library science at Western University. She currently lives in Ottawa, in the territory of the Anishinaabe Algonquin Nation.  

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon