©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Dreadnought

By April Daniels
Dreadnought by April Daniels digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

A trans teen is transformed into a superhero in this action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny’s body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

It should be the happiest time of her life, but Danny’s first weeks finally living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined. Between her father’s dangerous obsession with “curing” her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he’s entitled to date her, and her fellow superheroes arguing over her place in their ranks, Danny feels like she’s in over her head.

She doesn’t have time to adjust. Dreadnought’s murderer—a cyborg named Utopia—still haunts the streets of New Port City, threatening destruction. If Danny can’t sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

“I didn’t know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now.”—Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

“A thoroughly enjoyable, emotionally rich, action-packed story with the most exciting new superheroes in decades. Unmissable.”—Kirkus Reviews

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

55 Reviews

3.5
“4 / 5 ⭐️'ˢ "Dreadnought" by April Daniels This was a compelling and action-packed novel that explores themes of gender identity, self-discovery, and the true meaning of heroism. The story follows Danny Tozer, a teenage trans girl who gains superpowers after witnessing the death of the world's greatest superhero, Dreadnought. As Danny navigates her newfound abilities and the challenges of coming out to her friends and family, she also faces discrimination and violence from the superhero community and the public at large. Through it all, Danny remains determined to be true to herself and to use her powers for good, even if it means standing up against the people she once idolized. Daniels does an excellent job of creating complex and relatable characters, especially in Danny, whose struggles with gender dysphoria and transphobia are portrayed with sensitivity and depth. The world-building is also impressive, with a richly imagined superhero universe that feels both familiar (set in the PNW!) and unique. I read this because it was the monthly pick for my Goodreads "LGBTQ/GSM Fantasy & Science Fiction” group. I didn’t even read what this one was about before I started it. I’m glad I read it, it was a SUPER fun read. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. Also, If you have an Audible account this one and the next book in the series are currently free to listen!”

About April Daniels

April Daniels graduated from UC Santa Cruz with a degree in literature. She completed her first manuscript by scribbling a few sentences at a time between calls while working in the customer support department for a well-known video game console. She has a number of hobbies, most of which are boring and predictable. As nostalgia for the 1990s comes into its full bloom, she has become ever more convinced that she was born two or three years too late and missed all the good stuff the first time around.

Other books by April Daniels

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon