©2024 Fable Group Inc.
3.5 

Cleat Cute

By Meryl Wilsner
Cleat Cute by Meryl Wilsner digital book - Fable

Publisher Description

* USA TODAY BESTSELLER *

A sapphic rivals to lovers rom com for fans of Ted Lasso and A League of Their Own, where two soccer teammates are at odds before falling in love as their team gears up for the World Cup.


Grace Henderson has been a star of the US Women’s National Team for ten years, even though she’s only 26. But when she’s sidelined with an injury, a bold new upstart, Phoebe Matthews, takes her spot. 22-year-old Phoebe is everything Grace isn’t—a gregarious jokester who plays with a joy that Grace lost somewhere along the way. The last thing Grace expects is to become teammates with benefits with this class clown she sees as her rival.

Phoebe Matthews is too focused on her first season as a professional soccer player to think about seducing her longtime idol. But when Grace ends up making the first move, they can’t keep their hands off of each other.

As the World Cup approaches and Grace works her way back from injury, a miscommunication leaves the women with hilariously different perspectives on their relationship. But they’re on the same page on the field, realizing they can play together instead of vying for the same position. With every tackle the tension between them grows, and both players soon have to decide what's more important—being together or making the roster.

The perfect blend of funny and steamy, Meryl Wilsner’s Cleat Cute is about being brave enough to win on and off the field.

Download the free Fable app

app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities
app book lists

Stay organized

Keep track of what you’re reading, what you’ve finished, and what’s next.
app book recommendations

Build a better TBR

Swipe, skip, and save with our smart list-building tool
app book reviews

Rate and review

Share your take with other readers with half stars, emojis, and tags
app comments

Curate your feed

Meet readers like you in the Fable For You feed, designed to build bookish communities

372 Reviews

3.5
Slightly Smiling Face
Characters change and growLikable charactersEasy to readFunny writing
Slightly Smiling Face“This book is great if you just wanna chill out and read a cute love story. Love Grace with my whole heart and I liked the storyline! But like the 🌶️ made me a little uncomfortable with the babygirl stuff 😭😭 and the end was a little rushed. But overall good read!”
Characters change and growLikable charactersFunny writingFast-pacedRealistic settingComicalFeel goodRomanticPredictable
Thinking Face“I love giving 4 and 5 stars to books 🥺🥺 but ir was hard giving one to this one. Cleat Cute had a great potential : it’s a sapphic rivals to lovers rom-com where two soccer teammates, Grace & Phoebe, are at odds before falling in love as their team gears up for the World Cup. The book had a huge potential but honestly I was a little bit disappointed ☹️. Maybe I’m too hard but that’s how I felt it. I love descriptive writing but Cleat cute was way too much in terms of description of soccer. There were too much explanations about it and I lost it 😂😂 like I lost the plot and all. There weren’t also a lot of dialogues between both FMCs and I didn’t really feel the tension between them 😭😭 Moreover I didn’t really get attached to both of them. I liked Phoebe because she’s outgoing, extrovert, very sociable and she seems pleasant to talk to. And I love the fact that ADHD was mentioned but it could have been more talked about. And unfortunately the end was a little bit rushed 😭😭😭 it was cute but too rushed and I didn’t like it.”
Diverse charactersLikable charactersDescriptive writingUnengaging charactersUnsatisfying endingUnsatisfying plot

About Meryl Wilsner

MERYL WILSNER writes happily ever afters for queer folks who love women. They are the USA Today bestselling author of Something to Talk About and Mistakes Were Made. Born in Michigan, Meryl lived in Portland, Oregon and Jackson, Mississippi before returning to the Mitten State. Some of Meryl's favorite things include: all four seasons, button down shirts, the way giraffes run, and their wife.

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Do I have to buy the ebook to participate in a book club?

Why can’t I buy the ebook on the app?

How is Fable’s reader different from Kindle?

Do you sell physical books too?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

How do I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB