©2024 Fable Group Inc.
This book is not available to purchase on Fable
4.5 

Blood Over Bright Haven

By M.L. Wang
Blood Over Bright Haven by M.L.  Wang digital book - Fable

Why read on Fable?

Discover social reading

Chat inside the ebook with emojis, comments and more

Annotate with notes, tabs, and highlights

Share or keep your notes private with our annotation features

Support the World Literacy Foundation

We donate 20% of every book sale to help children learn to read

Publisher Description

Magic has made the city of Tiran an industrial utopia, but magic has a cost—and the collectors have come calling.

An orphan since the age of four, Sciona has always had more to prove than her fellow students. For twenty years, she has devoted every waking moment to the study of magic, fueled by a mad desire to achieve the impossible: to be the first woman ever admitted to the High Magistry. When she finally claws her way up the ranks to become a highmage, however, she finds that her challenges have just begun. Her new colleagues will stop at nothing to let her know she is unwelcome, beginning with giving her a janitor instead of a qualified lab assistant.

What neither Sciona nor her peers realize is that her taciturn assistant was once more than a janitor; before he mopped floors for the mages, Thomil was a nomadic hunter from beyond Tiran’s magical barrier. Ten years have passed since he survived the perilous crossing that killed his family. But working for a highmage, he sees the opportunity to finally understand the forces that decimated his tribe, drove him from his homeland, and keep the Tiranish in power.

Through their fractious relationship, mage and outsider uncover an ancient secret that could change the course of magic forever—if it doesn’t get them killed first. Sciona has defined her life by the pursuit of truth, but how much is one truth worth with the fate of civilization in the balance?

A standalone dark academia brimming with mystery, tragedy, and the damning echoes of the past. For fans of Leigh Bardugo, V. E. Schwab, and Fullmetal Alchemist.

(Content warnings for gore, sexual assault, and suicidal ideation)

132 Reviews

4.5
Loudly Crying Face
Characters change and growDiverse charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenEasy to readOriginal writing
Thinking Face
Diverse charactersMulti-layered charactersBeautifully writtenThought-provoking
Thinking Face“The club hit another home run with this book. The characters felt believable and there were plenty of twists and turns. There are obvious allegories to colonialism and mercantilism, but woven into the story without ever feeling preachy.”
Believable charactersUnpredictableDark
Slightly Smiling Face“Ml Wang delivers again! This was a fast paced joy ride through dark academia! Once I picked it up I had a hard time putting it down and ended up finishing it in three sittings. Only critique is I think there’s some background details that could have expanded the plot. Like: The obsession with religions, why some of the founders did what they did etc. regardless a banger!”
Characters change and growEasy to readFast-paced

About M.L. Wang

Start a Book Club

Start a public or private book club with this book on the Fable app today!

FAQ

Why can’t I buy this ebook on Fable?

Can I start a book club with this book on Fable?

Are book clubs free to join on Fable?

Error Icon
Save to a list
0
/
30
0
/
100
Private List
Private lists are not visible to other Fable users on your public profile.
Notification Icon