©2024 Fable Group Inc.
Blog

The Best Books We Read in March

best books 12.1.23
Happy (almost) April, readers! I don’t know about you, but I’m definitely ready to transition to spring. At least March’s inconsistent weather provided us with plenty of opportunities to dive into a good book. Here’s what our editors loved in March.
Alex Posey:
Dolly Alderton’s “Good Material” is a delight. Well, as much of a delight as watching a 35-year-old man wallow in his recent breakup, struggling career, and lack of an apartment can be. Which, it turns out, is more than you might think! The book has a very British sense of humor, and the protagonist, Andy, may remind readers of Nick Hornby’s most enduring characters. My one complaint: early on, a character says, “At 35, you’re closer to 50 than 20.” I might have to sue Alderton for emotional damages.
Jason Boog:
I read “My Year of Rest and Relaxation” by Ottessa Moshfegh weeks ago, but it has stuck with me all month, like the memory of a fever dream. The book tells the story of a sad young woman coping with the transition into adulthood, and it brought back lots of memories of my younger days in New York City. It is set 20 years in the past, but brings life at the turn of the century to life with a meticulous attention to period detail. There is so much sadness bundled up in the book, but somehow Moshfegh kept me laughing the whole time.
Cameron Capello:
I read “The Devil in Winter” this month to mentally prepare myself for the return of Bridgerton. Needless to say, it did not disappoint. Evie is the daughter of a gambler who was forced to live with her cruel uncle her entire life. Desperate to escape the abusive household, Evie runs to Sebastian St. Vincent, a world-renowned rake and notorious bachelor, and proposes a marriage of convenience. To her surprise, Sebastian agrees and the two run away to Scotland to get married. However, between her brutish uncle and father’s gambling debts, it’s going to take a lot more than a marriage to save Evie.
Hayley Dennings:
I read “BLK ART” by Zaria Ware, which is a beautiful introduction to the legacy of Black artists and dismissed Black art masters and models who influenced the world. It was not my usual style of book, but seeing all the stunning art with the historical information that inspired the pieces and examinations of the artists’ careers was super fascinating. The book felt restorative in the way it elevated a legacy that had been historically dismissed to its rightful place in the mainstream art canon. I’ve always loved art history, and this book just made me want to do more research into various studies of the canon and history that surrounds it.
Desiree Worrall-Belanger:
I read “Lovely War” this month and I quite literally cannot stop thinking about it. It centers the love story of two young couples during WWI—James and Hazel, and Aubrey and Colette—who all become very close friends, told from the point of view of Greek Gods and Goddesses. It’s mostly told from Aphrodite’s point of view, but she also brings in Ares, Apollo, and Hades to help her tell this emotional story to Hephaestus. It’s a wonderful piece of literature and I don’t think I’ll ever get over it.
Good Material by Dolly Alderton digital book - Fable

Good Material

By Dolly Alderton

In this sharply funny and exquisitely relatable story of romantic disaster and friendship, Dolly Alderton offers up a love story with two endings, demonstrating once again why she is one of the most exciting writers today, and the voice of a generation.

My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh digital book - Fable

My Year of Rest and Relaxation

By Ottessa Moshfegh

From one of our boldest, most celebrated new literary voices, a novel about a young woman’s efforts to duck the ills of the world by embarking on an extended hibernation.

The Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas digital book - Fable

The Devil in Winter

By Lisa Kleypas

Desperate to escape her scheming relatives, Evangeline Jenner has sought the help of the most infamous scoundrel in London.

BLK ART by Zaria Ware digital book - Fable

BLK ART

By Zaria Ware

A fun and fact-filled introduction to the dismissed Black art masters and models who shook up the world.

Lovely War by Julie Berry digital book - Fable

Lovely War

By Julie Berry

Perfect for fans of Divine Rivals, a critically-acclaimed, multi-layered romance set in the perilous days of World Wars I and II, where gods hold the fates–and the hearts–of four mortals in their hands.

Keep reading on Fable

The Fable app is built for social reading, with tools for sharing highlights, comments, insights, links, pictures, and videos. With our platform, you can host every aspect of an online discussion at a single destination to reach readers and build safe online communities regardless of location or time zone.
Start your own book club today!
You can also discover the best audiobook by exploring thousands of book lists on Fable, decoding your personal taste with our guided recommendations. It’s easy to make your own list as well!
Make a great book list.
Just finished reading an audiobook and have the urge to share your thoughts with the world? It’s time to write your review and highlight your favorite sentences! You can also import your Goodreads reviews to your Fable account!
Set a reading goal!
It's easy to organize your reading aspirations and track your progress on Fable. Use our app to set the number of books you plan on reading this year and share your progress with our supportive community.  

Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB