©2024 Fable Group Inc.
Blog

Celebrate Ramadan with Books by Muslim Authors

muslim books
As the holy month of Ramadan begins, readers around the world seek stories that reflect the spirit of this beautiful time. From tales of love and family to introspective narratives of identity and faith, immerse yourself in these captivating reads that encompass the essence of the Ramadan season.
"Hijab Butch Blues" by Lamya H
Lamya H's "Hijab Butch Blues" offers a unique and powerful perspective on the intersection of identity, faith, and sexuality. The protagonist navigates the complexities of being a queer Muslim woman, challenging societal norms and seeking acceptance in a world that often fails to understand her. With lyrical prose and heartfelt storytelling, this novel invites readers to contemplate the true meaning of self-discovery and belonging during a time of spiritual reflection.
"Unmarriageable" by Soniah Kamal
Soniah Kamal's "Unmarriageable" is a delightful retelling of Jane Austen's classic "Pride and Prejudice," set in modern-day Pakistan. Through the lens of the Binat family, Kamal intricately weaves together themes of love, marriage, and societal expectations, all while capturing the essence of the holy month. With its vibrant characters and witty dialogue, this novel offers a fresh perspective on timeless themes, reminding readers of the importance of family, tradition, and personal integrity.
"The Last White Man" by Mohsin Hamid
Mohsin Hamid's "The Last White Man" is a thought-provoking exploration of power, privilege, and cultural exchange in a globalized world. The novel follows the journey of a man who suddenly finds himself with a new identity—Anders’s skin has turned dark. Hamid's masterful storytelling invites readers to test their capacity for empathy and the transcendence over bigotry, fear, and anger it can achieve.
"As Long as the Lemon Tree Grows" by Zoulfa Katouh
Zoulfa Katouh's "As Long as the Lemon Tree Grows" is a tender and evocative portrayal of family, tradition, and the enduring bonds of love. “As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow” is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of “The Book Thief” and “Salt to the Sea.”
"Between Two Moons" by Aisha Abdel Gawad
Aisha Abdel Gawad's "Between Two Moons" is a gorgeously written, intimate family story and a polyphonic portrait of life under the specter of Islamophobia. “Between Two Moons” challenges the reader to interrogate their own assumptions, asking questions of allegiance to faith, family, and community, and what it means to be a young Muslim in America. This Ramadan, let these captivating books transport you to worlds filled with love, resilience, and the enduring power of faith. Whether you're seeking tales of romance, introspection, or social commentary, these diverse reads offer something for everyone, inviting readers to reflect on the true meaning of Ramadan and the universal values that bind us all together.
Hijab Butch Blues by Lamya H: digital book - Fable

Hijab Butch Blues

By Lamya H:

A queer hijabi Muslim immigrant survives her coming-of-age by drawing strength and hope from stories in the Quran in this “raw and relatable memoir that challenges societal norms and expectations

Unmarriageable by Soniah Kamal digital book - Fable

Unmarriageable

By Soniah Kamal

Alys Binat has sworn never to marry—until an encounter with one Mr. Darsee at a wedding makes her reconsider.

The Last White Man by Mohsin Hamid digital book - Fable

The Last White Man

By Mohsin Hamid

In Mohsin Hamid’s “lyrical and urgent” prose (O Magazine), The Last White Man powerfully uplifts our capacity for empathy and the transcendence over bigotry, fear, and anger it can achieve.

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow by Zoulfa Katouh digital book - Fable

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow

By Zoulfa Katouh

A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.

Between Two Moons by Aisha Abdel Gawad digital book - Fable

Between Two Moons

By Aisha Abdel Gawad

A gorgeously written, intimate family story and a polyphonic portrait of life under the specter of Islamophobia, Between Two Moons challenges the reader to interrogate their own assumptions

Keep reading on Fable

The Fable app is built for social reading, with tools for sharing highlights, comments, insights, links, pictures, and videos. With our platform, you can host every aspect of an online discussion at a single destination to reach readers and build safe online communities regardless of location or time zone.
Start your own book club today!
You can also discover the best audiobook by exploring thousands of book lists on Fable, decoding your personal taste with our guided recommendations. It’s easy to make your own list as well!
Make a great book list.
Just finished reading an audiobook and have the urge to share your thoughts with the world? It’s time to write your review and highlight your favorite sentences! You can also import your Goodreads reviews to your Fable account!
Set a reading goal!
It's easy to organize your reading aspirations and track your progress on Fable. Use our app to set the number of books you plan on reading this year and share your progress with our supportive community.

Notification Icon