©2024 Fable Group Inc.
Blog

Books That Celebrate Asexuality and the Ace Spectrum

Ace Week
Asexuality is a spectrum. There is not just one way to define it. Asexuality is an intrinsic part of people’s identities--it’s not just a choice they make. Though some asexual people might not experience sexual attraction or be drawn to people sexually, others might experience a little sexual attraction. Asexuality is different for everyone, and books can help you understand this often misunderstood identity. 

Books about asexuality and the Ace spectrum

Once a year, the world celebrates Asexual Awareness Week. But here at Fable, we are always looking for more books with authors and characters along the ace spectrum.Ace Week is an international campaign to educate about ace spectrum experiences.The week takes place during the last full week in October. It’s the perfect occasion to celebrate the often excluded identity, but it’s essential to acknowledge and support asexuality all the time, not just in October.Here are seven books that celebrate asexuality and the ace spectrum!“The Summer of Bitter and Sweet” by Jen Ferguson. This book tells an emotional story of rage and secrets, following the journey of self-discovery a Métis girl living on the Canadian prairie takes after receiving a mysterious letter from her biological father. “Radio Silence” by Alice Oseman. A story about a student named Frances who has always had one goal: to attend an elite university. She’s convinced nothing will stand in her way–not even a guilty secret or the person she is on the inside.  But then Frances meets the genius behind her favorite podcast and everything changes.“Dread Nation” by Justina Ireland. This horror book tells the story of a young girl’s struggle for survival in a new America, where children must attend a combat school to learn how to put down the dead.“Ace” by Angel Chen. Journalist Angela Chen takes readers on an engaging exploration of what it means to be asexual in a world that’s obsessed with sexual attraction through a book detailing her own experiences, as well as interviews with other ace-identifying people.“Sawkill Girls” by Claire LeGrand. A thrilling novel about three teenage girls who must survive an insidious monster that preys on young women.“Vicious” by V. E. Schwab. In a gritty comic-book-style world where gaining superpowers doesn’t automatically create a hero, two men, who were once best friends, but have become bitter enemies, do whatever it takes to become extraordinary.“Meet Cute Diary” by Emery Lee. A heartwarming rom-com about a transgender teen whose first love challenges his ideas about perfect relationships.
The Summer of Bitter and Sweet by Jen Ferguson digital book - Fable

The Summer of Bitter and Sweet

By Jen Ferguson

Lou is working in her family’s ice-cream shack with her ex-boyfriend and her ex-best friend. But when she gets a letter from her biological father and her family’s business comes under threat, she soon realizes that she can’t ignore her father forever.

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman digital book - Fable

Radio Silence

By Alice Oseman

Frances has always had one goal: elite university. Nothing will stand in her way. Not friends, not a guilty secret—not even the person she is on the inside. But when Frances meets the genius behind her favorite podcast, she finds a new freedom.

Dread Nation by Justina Ireland digital book - Fable

Dread Nation

By Justina Ireland

In this new America, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Native and Negro Education Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead.

Ace by Angela Chen digital book - Fable

Ace

By Angela Chen

An engaging exploration of what it means to be asexual in a world that’s obsessed with sexual attraction, and what the ace perspective can teach all of us about desire and identity.

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand digital book - Fable

Sawkill Girls

By Claire Legrand

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab digital book - Fable

Vicious

By V.E. Schwab

In Vicious, V. E. Schwab brings to life a gritty comic-book-style world in vivid prose: a world where gaining superpowers doesn't automatically lead to heroism, and a time when allegiances are called into question.

Meet Cute Diary by Emery Lee digital book - Fable

Meet Cute Diary

By Emery Lee

In this charming novel by Emery Lee, Noah will have to choose between following his own rules for love or discovering that the most romantic endings are the ones that go off script.

Keep reading on Fable

The Fable app is built for social reading, with tools for sharing highlights, comments, insights, links, pictures, and videos as you set measurable reading goals. We also make it easy to launch your free book club, even if you are reading an audiobook. With our platform, you can host every aspect of an online discussion at a single destination to reach readers and build safe online communities regardless of location or time zone.
Start your own book club today!
You can also discover the best audiobook by exploring thousands of book lists on Fable, decoding your personal taste with our guided recommendations. It’s easy to make your own list as well!
Make a great book list.
Just finished reading a great book and have the urge to share your thoughts with the world? It’s time to write your review and highlight your favorite sentences! You can also import your Goodreads reviews to your Fable account!
Rate and review your favorite books

Notification Icon
Fable uses the TMDB API but is not endorsed or certified by TMDB