©2023 Fable Group Inc.


Rachel Ingalls



Rachel Ingalls was born in Boston in 1940. She spent time in Germany before studying at Radcliffe College, and moved to England in 1965, where she lived for the rest of her life. Her debut novel, Theft (1970), won the Authors' Club First Novel Award, and her novella Mrs Caliban (1982) was named one of the 20 best American novels since World War Two by the British Book Marketing Council. Over half a century, Ingalls wrote 11 story collections and novellas - all published by Faber - to great acclaim, but remains relatively unknown. She died in 2019 after a revival of interest in her work.

Rachel Ingalls Books

In the Act book cover

In the Act

Rachel Ingalls
Binstead's Safari book cover

Binstead's Safari

Rachel Ingalls
Mrs. Caliban book cover

Mrs. Caliban

Rachel Ingalls
Notification Icon